FAP Logo
The Florida Association
of Periodontists is an AAP Foundation
Bronze Donor
FAP Banner
Dr. Robert T. Ferris Award    


In May of 2013, FAP President, Dr. Gary Altschuler proposed to the FAP Executive Council to create an award to recognize an outstanding FAP member. The Executive Council agreed with his proposal and decided on the name of the Florida Association of Periodontists Lifetime Achievement Award, with the first recipient, Dr. Samuel Low, being recognized with a plaque at the February 2014 FAP Business Meeting.

The FAP leadership later that year decided to rename the award to the Dr. Robert T. Ferris Award to recognize outstanding service to the Florida Association of Periodontists and contributions to the understanding of the field of periodontology and the diagnosis and treatment of periodontal disease.  The first Dr. Robert T. Ferris Award was presented it to its namesake, Dr. Robert Ferris, August 2014. Dr. Stuart Feldman was recognized February 2019, followed by Dr. James Antoon, February 2020.


Nominees must have made contributions to the Florida Association of Periodontists and to the field of periodontology in more than one area:

1.     Contributions must have been made over a perio of 25 years or more.

2.     Service may include, but are not limited to, predoctoral or postdoctoral education, participation in volunteer dental programs benefiting the community (at home or abroad), continuing education or contribution to the literature.

3.     Have held leadership positions in the Florida Association of Periodontists as well as the Florida Dental Association, or the Florida Board of Dentistry, service on the American Academy of Periodontology and/or leadership positions in the AAP.

4.     Nominees must be active, lifetime, or retired members of the FAP

5.     Members of the FAP Executive Council are not eligible

6.     Previous recipients are not eligible.


Award Nominations for 2025 are now being accepted.
The deadline to submit nominations is September 15, 2024.

You are encouraged to nominate yourself or one of your fellow FAP members for the prestigious Dr. Robert T. Ferris Award. FAP members may nominate an active, lifetime, or retired in good standing by submitting a nomination form for consideration by the FAP Executive Council.

Please review the nomination form carefully and submit a separate form for each nominee, if you wish to nominate more than one. The nominee’s achievements must match the award criteria.

All nominations will be forwarded to the FAP Executive Council for review and selection.  Award recipient will be announced and will receive a plaque at the February 2025 FAP Business Meeting in conjunction with the 2025 Winter Meeting.

The following enclosures must be included with each nomination. Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

·       Reasons for Nomination (see below)

·       Nominee’s CV or Resume (see below) or forward information via email: fap@tampabay.rr.com, fax: 813-388-6098, or mail: FAP, 30524 Birdhouse Drive, Wesley Chapel, FL  33545

·       Letter(s) of Support are optional - submit below or via instructions above.

Please contact the FAP office with any questions:  352-232-6800 or email: fap@tampabay.rr.com